Editorial Board

Dr Chris Bailey

Dr Chris Bailey is director of development at the UK vaccine company, ImmunoBiology Ltd. During his earlier career at Beecham, Celltech and Medeva, Dr Bailey worked in new product development in the areas of vaccines, recombinant DNA products, gene therapies and small molecules.

Dr Gabriele Dallmann

Dr Gabriele Dallmann is a specialist in the field of biopharmaceuticals with long-term experience in drug development and regulatory strategy. She has worked as a regulator at the Paul-Ehrlich-Institute in Germany and also founded companies that support the industry. She co-founded the Munich-based regulatory consultancy Biopharma Excellence which merged with PharmaLex in 2021.

Dr Miguel Forte

Dr Miguel Forte is chief executive of Bone Therapeutics SA of Belgium and a visiting professor at the Lisbon and Aveiro Universities in Portugal. He is also chair of the commercialisation committee of the International Society of Cellular Therapy. He holds an MD from the University of Lisbon and a PhD in immunology from the University of Birmingham, UK.

Dr Thomas Lönngren

Dr Thomas Lönngren is the former executive director of the European Medicines Agency, having overseen the EMA’s growth from a small agency to one with both regional and global responsibilities. Prior to this, he was deputy director general of the Swedish Medical Products Agency. Dr Lönngren is currently chair of the board of Egitis Therapeutics AB and a member of the board of NDA Group AB. He is also an independent director of Compass Pathways Ltd.  

Professor Chris Mason

Professor Chris Mason, FRCS, FMedSci, is a co-founder and chief scientific officer of AvroBio Inc, a clinical-stage gene therapy company located in Cambridge, Massachusetts, US. He also holds the Chair of Cell and Gene Therapy in the Advanced Centre for Biochemical Engineering at University College London. Prof Mason is on a number of national and international committees, enabling the clinical translation and commercialisation of cell and gene therapies.  

Dr Edwin Moses

Dr Edwin Moses was chief executive officer of Ablynx NV until 2018 when the company was acquired by Sanofi SA. He has more than 25 years of experience in the life science and biotechnology sectors including board level positions, primarily as chairman, in over 15 European companies. He is currently chairman of Sensorion SA, Achilles Therapeutics Ltd, LabGenius Ltd and Avantium NV.

Dr Jean-Claude Muller

Dr Jean-Claude Muller is a special advisor to a number of international institutions, having previously been a senior vice president in research and development at Sanofi SA. At Sanofi, he was responsible for identifying strategic opportunities and potential breakthrough technologies. Dr Muller is currently researching innovation in neuroscience and stem cell technologies.

Dr John Purves

Dr John Purves is a life science consultant and member of the Board of the International Alliance for Biological Standardisation (IABS). He previously worked for 14 years at the European Medicines Agency as head of the biotechnology and biological products sector and subsequently, as head of the sector for the quality of medicines. Prior to joining the EMA, Dr Purves was manager of the biotechnology and biological unit at the UK Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency.

Dr J Fraser Wright

Dr J Fraser Wright is Professor of Paediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine, and Principal at Wright Biologics Consulting, having previously been chief technology officer at Spark Therapeutics Inc where he was also a co-founder. He is an expert in the field of gene therapy, viral vectors and monoclonal antibodies, contributing to the clinical development of Luxturna and Kymriah, gene therapy products that were licensed in 2017.